Back to site

Totally Michael - Totally Michael


Launching with the feel-good Casiofied anthem “Summertime,” Totally Michael introduces us to his world where everyday is a summer dance party fueled by cherry Kool-Aid, an electric guitar and a laptop. From there, the album moves on to his ode to Winona Ryder: “I was 7 years old you were 19 when I first saw you it was on the T.V.,” he sings over layers of keyboards and chugging guitar before declaring, “I’m not a high class retail outlet but I would love for you to steal my heart.” On the live favorite, “Cheerleaders vs. Drillteam,” Totally Michael splits his audience in two, dividing them in teams as he instructs, “Ok, split it down the middle, cheerleaders on the left, drillteam on the right, prepare for battle, show me what you got, we’ll settle this tonight,” – and just like that, it’s on. Totally Michael slows down the pace with “Orchestral Interlude,” an aptly titled song, sounding like the soundtrack to a wedding on Fantasy Island.

Describing his sound as a “mohawked angel with a hose full of holy water… blasting the wallflowers,” URB Magazine singled out Totally Michael for their annual “Next 100 Issue.” Citing Prince and Blink-182 as influences and bringing about comparisons to Andrew W.K., Dan Deacon and synth-punk pioneer Atom and His Package, Totally Michael revels in the forgotten joys of showmanship and booty shaking.

Track Listing:
01. Summertime
02. Winona
03. In Her Diary
04. Cheerleaders vs. Drillteam
05. Don’t Stop
06. Orchestral Institute
07. Prom Night
08. Death Hill (Over And Over)
09. Casual Satisfaction
10. Slow Jam
11. Get With It Sierra