Back to site

The Clientele - Bonfires On The Heath

$15.00 - On Sale

The Clientele - Bonfires On The Heath

Bonfires on the Heath is in a sense a return to The Clientele’s roots; the dreamlike suburban landscapes first encountered in the early singles, their trippy sense of menace stronger now. Back in London, they’ve drawn on older traditions of English folk, which exist here side by side with the band’s more familiar bossa and pop elements. Mel Draisey’s contributions on piano and violin add beautifully to Alasdair MacLean’s timeless, eerie songs.

Instantly identifiable, The Clientele sound like no one else despite being cited as an influence by bands as diverse as Spoon and Fleet Foxes. It’s been said that the greatest bands always create their own individual sound; The Clientele have gone one further and created their own world.

“Like Felt before them, The Clientele have completed a commercially neglected yet conceptually immaculate decade, mapping, across four albums and a couple of compilations, a twilit suburb of English pop, as though a young TS Eliot had fronted The Zombies.”– Uncut Magazine

Track Listing:
01. I Wonder Who We Are
02. Bonfires on the Heath
03. Harvest Time
04. Never Anyone But You
05. Jennifer & Julia
06. Sketch
07. Tonight
08. Share the Night
09. I Know I'll See Your Face
10. Never Saw Them Before
11. Graven Wood
12. Walking in the Park