Back to site

NEON INDIAN - Era Extraña

$15.00 - On Sale

NEON INDIAN - Erase Extraña

After nearly two years on the road off the success of his debut, Palomo returns this fall with his proper follow-up LP, Era Extraña. This time around, we see a darker shaded sound document that tosses somewhere between an 8-bit shoegaze record and peering through the fence of a
teenage apocalypse drive-in flick.

The sample-happy stylings of his previous efforts have been traded in for acid-stained commodore 64 jams (See 'Polish Girl, 'Future Sick') and bit-pulped guitar sludge ballads (see 'Hex Girlfriend', 'The Blindside Kiss'). All throughout, the undulating moods of the record are guided by a haunted three-part instrumental titled Heart: Attack, Heart: Decay, and Heart: Release. Once completed, the layers were then thawed and reassembled by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips,
MGMT), who mixed the album and did additional production with Palomo at his upstate Tarbox Studios. The album sessions there were briefly taken on a scenic detour by a drop-in four-song EP collaboration with The Flaming Lips which was released earlier this year.

Track Listing:
01. Heart: Attack
02. Polish Girl
03. The Blindside Kiss
04. Hex Girlfriend
05. Heart: Decay
06. Fallout
07. Era Extrana
08. Halogen (I Could Be A Shadow)
09. Future Sick
10. Suns Irrupt
11. Heart: Release
12. Arcade Blues