Back to site




‘Tussle’ is the debut full-length offering from Sydney quartet Day Ravies, composed of Sam Wilkinson (guitar/vox), Caroline de dear (bass/vox), Lani Crooks (keyboard/vox) and Matt Neville (drums). It follows on from a self-titled EP released in early 2012.

In late 2012 they dropped the woozy ‘Double Act’ - the first single from the forthcoming album. Drifting from the playful dream-pop innocence of the EP, ‘Double Act’ introduced a thicker, more complex layer to the Day Ravies fold. They followed this recently with a second single and video for the swirling track ‘I Don’t Mind’, furthering their instrumental repertoire and adding to their freshly refined sound.

More intricate, urgent tunes have replaced the innocuous major-chord jangle of yore. The diversity of these songs is reflected in the album’s title: a winking acknowledgement of the collaborative songwriting process.

From shoegaze to kraut-rock to ‘90s indie, the band’s three songwriters bring a range influences to this record; never imitating, always innovating.

01. Leaky Tin
02. Double Act
03. Pinky
04. Cocoon
05. Jasmine
06. Steeple Walk
07. I Don’t Mind
08. Sun Up
09. Dasher
10. Reality School
11. Staring Is Caring
12. Picking Up